How you can delete documents without sending them to Trash in Windows 10
(Trash in Windows 10) The Recycle Bin has been in our lives almost as long as Windows itself, and it offers us a very easy way to separate, among those deleted files, those you want to keep and others you want to get rid of forever.
However, not everyone likes how it works, as it means that for all practical purposes you have to delete a file twice before it disappears. It offers you the possibility to rectify, if you didn’t want to delete it, but it also slows down the process.
Here we explain how to instantly delete files from your Windows 10.
How to delete documents forever without the Recycle Bin
In Windows 10 , you have the ability to delete documents without going through the Recycle Bin at specific times or configure it to always be like that. In any case, you will have to change the settings of your computer.
First of all, you can do it on specific occasions in this way:
1. Open the ‘File Explorer’, either by searching for it manually or by clicking on its icon in the taskbar.
2. Select the file you want to permanently delete and tap on the ‘Shift’ + ‘Delete’ keys. Alternatively, you can right-click and hold the ‘Shift’ key when selecting the ‘Delete’ option.
3. When you do this, you will get a message asking if you are sure you want to delete that file permanently. Accept and voila!
Those who want to change this setting forever, can follow these steps:
1. Right click on the Recycle Bin icon (either on the desktop, the taskbar or in the Start menu) and choose ‘Properties’.
2. In the ‘Settings for selected location’ section, make sure the option ‘Do not move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately upon deletion ‘is selected.
3. Confirm the changes by clicking on ‘OK’.
4. Now when you delete any files, you will be shown the option to permanently delete them.
By default, this new setting will only be applied to disk C :, so you will have to repeat this process if you want the same to happen when you delete files from other disks that also send the deleted files to the Recycle Bin on your computer.
How to make the Recycle Bin empty automatically
If you think that removing that layer of security offered by the Recycle Bin (you can recover the deleted files) is too much, you can configure it to empty automatically after several days.
This trick allows you to continue having the peace of mind of knowing that if you delete something by mistake you can recover it again, and at the same time prevent your computer’s storage from collapsing with files that you don’t need.
By default, files are deleted up to 60 days after being deleted, but you can change it to your liking in the ‘Storage sensor’ menu:
1. Go to ‘Settings’, followed by ‘System’ and ‘Storage’.
2. Turning off the ‘Storage Sense’ switch will no longer automatically delete files from Trash.
3. If you want it to do so but after a different period of time, you must click on the option ‘Change the way to free up space automatically’.
4. Under ‘Temporary files’, click on the menu ‘Delete files from the recycle bin if they have been in the bin for more than’ and choose the period of time you prefer.